Gov. Tom Corbett has declared March “Dog License Awareness Month” in Pennsylvania.
“Warmer temperatures bring opportunities for both people and dogs to get outside and enjoy the great outdoors, but far too often dogs get away from their families and get lost,” Corbett said. “A dog license is not just the law, it’s also one of the best ways to help get your lost dog home safely.”
Corbett visited the Montgomery County SPCA on Friday to highlight the need to license dogs in Pennsylvania, saying that a “license is the best way to ensure lost dogs have a happy homecoming,” the Governor’s Office said.
A dog license is $8.45, or $6.85 if your dog is spayed or neutered. All dogs in Pennsylvania older than 3 months must be licensed each year by Jan. 1, or else its owners will face fines of up to $300.
For more information, visit www.licenseyourdogPA.com.